Blogs > NBA Nuggets

Breaking Pistons news and analysis of developments within the team and around the NBA.

Thursday, April 16, 2009


Just got this release from the NBA. A classy move by ex-Piston coach Rick Carlisle and the rest of the league's coaches to dedicate the postseason to Chuck Daly and create an award in his honor. Daly is seriously ill with pancreatic cancer.

The National Basketball Coaches' Association
   (NBCA)  announced  today  that it will dedicate the 2009 NBA Playoffs to
   former NBA  Head Coach Chuck Daly.

          Dallas  Mavericks  Head  Coach  and  President  of  the NBCA Rick
   Carlisle and NBCA Executive Director Michael Goldberg announced that NBA
   coaches  throughout  the  Playoffs will wear a lapel pin emblazoned with
   the  initials “CD” as a show of support for Daly, who was diagnosed with
   pancreatic  cancer  in  February  and is currently undergoing treatment.
   The Hall of Famer coached the Cavaliers, Pistons, Nets and Magic and led
   the 1992 Men's Olympic Dream Team to a Gold Medal.

         In addition to honoring Daly throughout the 2009 NBA Playoffs, the
   NBCA  also  announced  that  it  is  developing the “Chuck Daly Lifetime
   Achievement Award” to honor a current or former NBA Coach (Head Coach or

         “I   am  pleased  to announce that the NBCA is dedicating the 2009
   NBA  Playoffs to Chuck Daly and we all send our thoughts and best wishes
   to  him  and  his  family,”  said  Carlisle.   “Chuck has played such an
   important  role as a friend and mentor to so many NBA coaches, it’s only
   fitting  that  we develop the ‘Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award’ in
   his honor.”

         The “Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award” will be awarded yearly
   to a current or former NBA coach who, throughout an NBA career, has made
   a  special  contribution  to the sport and whose work has had a positive
   impact  on the NBA coaching profession.  The award will be voted upon by
   the  members of the NBA Coaches Association and will be announced at the
   conclusion of the NBA regular season.

         The inaugural award will be presented later this year.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home